DE  EN

Biography

Viola da Gamba Consort Les Escapades

Ensemble Les Escapades

Gambenconsort

Inspired by the extraordinary sound world of the viola da gamba, the musicians Barbara Pfeifer, Sabine Kreutzberger, Adina Scheyhing und Franziska Finckh founded the viola da gamba consort Les Escapades in the year 2000.
Musical “escapades” are their programmes – following this idea, Les Escapades create unusual concerts, making room for new listening experiences. The four gamba players studied in the centres for Early Music (Den Haag, Basel, Trossingen). Numerous soloistic performances by each of the ensemble members and participation in various chamber music projects continue to influence and enrich their work together in the consort.

Les Escapades concertise as a viola da gamba quartet as well as with other instrumentalists, singers, dancers and actors.
The ensemble has become well known through recordings for the Südwestrundfunk (SWR) and SWR television, and through participation in major choral projects.

Les Escapades participated in the Lieder project of SWR/Carus-Verlag in 2010-2011. A recording of Christmas carols was issued by Carus in October 2012.

With their CD “Ich will in Friede fahren” (on the Christophorus label), the ensemble introduced music of the 17th century from Germany in collaboration with the countertenor Franz Vitzthum.
In 2010 Les Escapades shifted their main focus onto the French royal court. With their CD “Les Escapades du Roi”, also issued by Christophorus and recorded together with the soprano Monika Mauch, they comment on the loves and intrigues of royal mistresses during the Baroque period.
“Fabulous London”, a recording of English consort music, was issued in 2013.

DE  EN

Biografie

Gambenconsort Les Escapades

Ensemble Les Escapades

Gambenconsort

Inspiriert von der außergewöhnlichen Klangwelt der Viola da Gamba gründeten die Musikerinnen Barbara Pfeifer, Sabine Kreutzberger, Adina Scheyhing und Franziska Finckh im Jahr 2000 das Gambenconsort Les Escapades.
Musikalische „Seitensprünge“ als Programm – dieser Idee folgend gestalten Les Escapades ungewöhnliche Konzerte und schaffen Raum für neue Hörerlebnisse. Die vier Gambistinnen studierten in den Zentren für Alte Musik (Den Haag, Basel, Trossingen). Zahlreiche solistische Auftritte der einzelnen Ensemblemitglieder und die Mitwirkung bei verschiedenen kammermusikalischen Projekten, prägen und bereichern die gemeinsame Arbeit im Consort.

Les Escapades konzertieren als Gambenquartett sowie mit anderen
Instrumentalisten, Sängern, Tänzern, Schauspielern.
Aufnahmen für den Südwestrundfunk (SWR) und das SWR-Fernsehen, sowie die Mitwirkung bei großen Chorprojekten machten das Ensemble bekannt.

Les Escapades wirkten mit beim Liederprojekt von SWR/Carus-Verlag 2010/2011.
Eine Aufnahme mit Weihnachtsliedern erschien bei Carus im Oktober 2012

Mit seiner CD „Ich will in Friede fahren“ (Label Christophorus) stellte das Ensemble in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Countertenor Franz Vitzthum Geistliche Musik des 17. Jahrhunderts aus Deutschland vor.
2010 verlegten Les Escapades ihren Arbeitsschwerpunkt an den französischen Königshof. Mit ihrer ebenfalls bei Christophorus veröffentlichten CD „Les Escapades du Roi“, die sie zusammen mit der Sopranistin Monika Mauch einspielten, kommentieren sie Liebe und Intrigen der königlichen Mätressen in der Barockzeit.
„Fabulous London“, eine Aufnahme mit englischer Consortmusik, erschien im Mai 2013